Geekyteacher











{February 9, 2009}   Summer Reading

Due to my college’s requirements, I’m reading some short stories for in-class discussion. Today, I went through Angelica Gibbs’ The Test.

The story goes around racial and gender discrimination. It was written in the 1940s and bluntly shows how African-American people were treated at this time. I can’t imagine the effects this story had among the middle classes at the time it was published!

From the very beginning, images come easily to your mind, so I won’t say anything else about it: Just click here and enjoy reading it!

And if you are interested, here you can find some questions to work with the story.

reza says:

Dear Sir/Madam

I am translating “The Test: by Gibbs to Azer Turkish lnaguage, unfortunately i could not find any piece of biography or her email or website to get the permission, could you help me?

Thanks



treandpep says:

I think you are referring to Angelica Gibbs, right? I just did some googling and came across this site. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any information about her. There are some essays students wrote about her writings, perhaps you may find information there.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
