Geekyteacher











{May 19, 2009}   A great idea!

I can’t remember where I got the idea from, but today, I made my English Literature students change the lyrics of a song to fit the story they were tested about (We read Five Orange Pips, and I chose “What a Wonderful World” by The Ramones for them to create new lyrics)

The results were superb, and the students had lots of fun looking for synonyms of the words from the story to make their ideas fit the rhythm of the song provided. I strongly recommend this activity if your students are art oriented or if you want to bring some fun and music into your classroom  – Your students will love doing this activity!

Here you have the Ramones’ version of the song and the lyrics a group of students wrote:

I have five orange pips

A letter too

It says I will die

Die really soon

And I think to myself

KKK I hate you

They have killed my uncle

My father too

I called Sherlock Holmes

To help me now

And I think to myself

KKK I hate you

In Baker Street I met him,

so serious in his flat

I told him how my father

and my uncle had died

I appreciate what he did

but now I am dead

Now he is saying

“I have failed”

My friend Holmes found the ship

It was called Lone Star

It sank in the sea

There are no solutions now,

And I think to myself

KKK I hate youuuu,

And I think to myself

KKK I hate youuuu…

Los Ramones en el cole, qué copado!!!!!! Les hubieras llevado Rock n Roll High School, y se armaba la anarquía en el cole. XD
Che Trelly, la verdad que cuando leo tus actividades me das ganas de ponerle todas las pilas a la carrera, sobre todo ahora que ando en una época medio bajón de vocación docente y demás, y que encima dejé la materia de Didáctica de Inglés porque no llego ni a palos con el tiempo para hacer todo tercer año.
Great blog!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
