Geekyteacher











{March 17, 2011}   Using Holiday-themed activities for our Business English lessons

Did you ever want to work with something different in your Business English lessons?

This year, I felt the need to use something unusual just to break with the routine. Working every single lesson on specific vocabulary made me feel my students were not learning enough. So, I carried out a little investigation -I googled, in other words 😉 – just in search of different ideas that could work with my students.

I got inspired for an intermediate-level class, which was starting on March 3rd. We were very close to a new holiday here in Argentina, and I thought it would be very nice to work with “why” we have that holiday. During my “investigation”, I came across lots of materials about Mardi Gras. My students LOVED the idea and the material, since they didn’t know about this celebration.

And tomorrow, March 17th, two more groups are starting and I’m preparing a lesson on St. Patrick’s Day.

If you like this idea, you can go to this site, where I found LOTS of interesting activities to carry out with students of different age groups. If you work with young people, you may find this audio story really useful. Or you can just ask me for the material I used 🙂

 

PS: I feel really tired today, but I wanted to share this with you since it’s been ages since my last post!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
