Geekyteacher











{November 27, 2013}   A menu for learning

This week I’m starting lessons with a new group and I thought of introducing the course in a different way. I thought of language as a complete meal, and so I designed my language learning menu based on a similar menu I was presented with during a conference on Spanish as a Foreign Language.

On the board, before my students arrived, I wrote my menu:

20131127-083902.jpg

When my students arrived, I asked them what they thought about the menu I was presenting and told them to add any other “course” they considered worth including to personalize their menu/learning experience.

It was a nice, different way to start a first lesson with adults, with whom I like to set objectives for the course during the first lesson.

Do you use something like this in your first lessons? How do your menues look like? Are they easy to follow? What do they suggest for learning?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
